Hungarian Government
ZoOm Hungary

Country name: Hungary.
Capital: Budapest.
Government type: parliamentary democracy
Prime Minister: Viktor ORBAN
President: János ÁDER

Legal system: based on the German-Austrian legal system; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction with reservations

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal


Executive branch:

Chief of state: President Janos ADER (since 10 May 2012)

Head of government: Prime Minister Viktor ORBAN (since 29 May 2010)

Cabinet: Council of Ministers prime minister elected by the National Assembly on the recommendation of the president; other ministers proposed by the prime minister and appointed and relieved of their duties by the president


Legislative branch:

Unicameral National Assembly or Országgyűlés

199 seats; members elected by popular vote under a system of proportional and direct representation to serve four-year terms

Elections: last held in April 2018 (next to be held in April 2022)